Ruined by stories

I completely love it when I am totally “ruined”by a great story!  What do I mean?  That I have an incredibly hard time getting involved in a new book because the book I just finished will not leave me.

I know lots of you can relate.  When you are engrossed in the life of the characters you’re reading about, you can feel everything they are going through.  It takes a special person to get you there.

For example, I have read books that are telling me the story, word by word, line by line, page by page.  And, I don’t know about you but that gets boring quick!  And even if I am attracted by the idea of the story I just can’t get through it.

On the other hand when I am enraptured… oh what a great feeling that is!  Example here would be Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen did that to me.  I could feel my heartbeat picking up and pitfalling.  I could feel the air around me when it was cold and the buzz of the talk around me from everyone involved in that story.

And, even though I’ve read other books in between, it’s been superficially.  Until, a few days ago.  I picked up The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, who I love as an author, and I am still feeling the aftershocks of what I read!

And now, I can’t pick up another book because I’m stuck in WWII and the story of 2 sisters who lived things I couldn’t have imagined.

So, now I am gratefully ruined again!

And now I ask… what story has ruined you?

Leave a Reply

